PDA

View Full Version : making your own waterless formula spray

Pages : [1] 2 3

HydroMan
04-01-2009, 03:18 AM
Hey everyone,

I am looking to make my mobile detailing business a waterless oriented one because:

1) I am a college student, and this is not a full time gig

2) I used to take an hour and a half to wash someone`s car and at a horrible price (for me)... brace yourself... $20

So because of this, I want to take a much quicker route. Now why did I mention that I am a college student? Because I’m almost always broke, and that may be due because of my pricing... and it also means I can`t afford to pay for waterless sprays online all the time (shipping costs kills).

So I tried some research on making your own waterless car wash spray. I came up with several formulas, but I haven`t tried them out yet. I would definitely love to hear some new (and hopefully successful) formulas if anyone can offer me?

So here goes:

1) 2 drops of auto wash, a little quick detailer, and water.

(this was in the forum somewhere, anyone have the measurements?)

2) A ratio of kerosene and water (6 parts water, 1 part kerosene)

(this scares me! won`t it ruin the paint?)

3) A paste consisting of baking soda, liquid castile soap, water, and, jojoba wax.

(I don`t want a paste, I want a spray, for speed)

4) Diluted Greased Lightning multipurpose spray. The company says its safe to use on RVs

(this, I think could be the best option? it’s a surfactant as well…)

So... anyone have better formulas, or ideas? I know that you should dust the car off before applying QD, I will do this before using the waterless product.

Help a poor college student today :)

salty
04-01-2009, 03:49 AM
QEW = Quick and Easy Wash and is available at most RV shops. Works well and the cost is cheap per vehicle.

HydroMan
04-01-2009, 04:01 AM
Thanks for the recommendation, but lol I would love to have a formula, that way I can not only make it when I need it, but also in bulk and cheaply... :)