PDA

View Full Version : Just starting out

Pages : [1] 2

Type Incredible
03-22-2009, 08:03 AM
I am very new to detailing, right now i used Turtle wax ICE (i think that`s what it is called), microfiber towels for washing and drying, i use different ones. I also use the two bucket system. i would like to get into polishing and a more in depth level of cleaning because it protects the paint and in my mind is a great alternative to the people that for some reason need a new car every 2 years. ( i don`t understand it)

I was looking at swissvax but seem more expensive, as well as P21s products. I would like to know what is a good starting points in terms of what go get, for me to get my feet wet. Also if a PC available to rent at Harbor Freight if anyone knows, because i have a few friends who will let me practice for a small fee.

Thanks

Alex

XRL
03-22-2009, 08:56 AM
IMO, I`d start off with a less expensive Carnauba type, and a less expensive Sealant(synthetics basically) type to kinda figure out what type of look you prefer. Keep in mind though that not all sealants will look the same, some are formulated to kinda look like Carnauba, some are formulated to do other things. IMO, a lot of the question is part of what kind of car it is, and what color it is. I`d try some NXT2 for a sealant, and something in a Meg`s #26 or Mother`s Carnauba as your Carnauba.

I wouldn`t worry about paying to practice on a PC or renting one. You can get one for just over $100, and they`re made to be almost idiot-proof. I like to recommend getting Meg`s SwirlX and Ultimate Compound, they`re available very cheaply at most everywhere, will work by hand or with a DA or rotary,and are very capable. Try them out by hand, and then snag a PC or a G110 or even a Flex when you find a good deal on one.

Type Incredible
03-22-2009, 11:10 AM
thanks i will look into that

imported_sal329
03-22-2009, 05:15 PM