PDA

View Full Version : So I Made a Stupid Decision

sdouglassjr
03-18-2009, 12:16 PM
Hey,

I own a 1981 Checker Marathon decided to give her a little scrubbing today. There was so much dirt and road grime and scuffs from cars knocking the side of my car that i thought it was going to be a good idea to use a scotch-rite pad to blast this stuff away. it did just that, blasted everything off i could imagine. then once the car dried i noticed there were noticable scratches everywhere and it was very faded every where i used the pad. I was wondering if anyone knew how to get rid of these scratches. i used some scratch remover and it did a little help, not much. so i used a little wax and that took some of the fading away but its still not looking great. Does anyone have any tips for me?

p.s. i know that was a total noob move to use a scotch-rite pad so lets keep the criticism to a minimum.

thanks, steven

BobD
03-18-2009, 12:24 PM
Wax won`t do anything. You`l want to use a good polish. Depending how bad you might need a machine as well.

sdouglassjr
03-18-2009, 12:26 PM
i think i will need a buffer, i was using some elbow grease and little progress was made. what kind of polish do you recommend? i was using McGuires x-spot, think i should put a couple coats on?

thanks

tom p.
03-18-2009, 12:33 PM
p.s. i know that was a total noob move to use a scotch-rite pad so lets keep the criticism to a minimum.

thanks, steven

Steve, while I don`t know how precious such a car is, would it make sense to take the car to a professional at this point in time and permit them to deal with it?

Welcome to Autopia-land!

sdouglassjr
03-18-2009, 12:42 PM