PDA

View Full Version : You`ll laugh, but I am new at this (LONG)

West6MT
10-16-2005, 03:33 AM
Hey everyone,
I have some questions that I would like to ask (hope this is the right place for these). Im new at detailing my own car, so these might seem like silly questions.

So you know what I am dealing with here:
Car is a 2005 TSX (month and a half old) thats been beaten on by the weather quite a bit sitting in the driveway for the last while. I wash it when I can when I am around but have been away a lot lately,......so I can only do so much.

Waiting for my order of products to arrive,............consists of: Basically all stuff made by Four Star (auto wash, swirl mark remover, paint cleanser, UPP, ultimate detailing clay fine grade, and ultimate gloss enhancer QD`er),.....as well as a new wash mitt, cobra waffle weave drying towel, (2 microfiber towels, 2 microfiber applicator pads, 2 poly foam applicators) park of a kit, 3 pack of cobra microfiber detailing cloths, lexol leather cleaner/conditioner, leather brush, 303 aero protectant, and Stoners invisible glass.

Ok, here are my questions,..........hope ppl dont get mad at me for making this thing so darn long.

1. When my stuff finally arrives,.......I plan to wash, clay, wash, polish, paint cleaner, 2 layers of UPP. I am not sure if I really need to do the polishing step though. Since it has been sitting out in the harsh elements,.....polishing it is prob a good idea right? I think there were buff/swirl marks on parts of the car when I picked it up from the dealer,......noticed when it was out in bright sun. There has been a lot of rain lately too.

2. What do I do if I get polish, paint cleaner, or UPP sealant (or a wax) on stuff like trim (black trim around windows, silver trim etc) or my headlights?