PDA

View Full Version : NewB needs help ASAP!!

snatchss454
02-19-2009, 07:06 PM
Hey everyone this is my first post and I need some serious help.

This morning there was some construction causing traffic to back up right where the highway off ramp merged, well some A**HOLE cut me off and slammed on his brakes, I had barely enough time to slow it down and my front end went under his back end.

There was so much traffic coming and I was looking over my left shoulder so I could open the door without having it taken off. By the time I got out and looked forward the guy was gone.

There wasnt much damage but you can tell something happened. There was some paint transfer which I removed but there is still what looks like light scratches in the clear coat that make a discoloration. It wasnt taken down to the primer.

How can I buff this out? What products do I need? I have ZERO experience with buffing wheels, pads, compounds, polishes.. etc. I have no idea what to do..PLEASE HELP

Shane

BIOLINK
02-19-2009, 08:01 PM
I`m no expert either but based on what you stated, if it is down to the primer there will be little you can to to "buff" anything out.

On parts that are not down to the primer you may try some rubbing compound by hand (which you can pick up at a local parts store or Walmart).

The parts that are to the primer will need touch up paint. With more skills, I have seen some sand locally and re-polish to blend the repair. I saw a recent posting on just such repair. I will try to find it for you. Good Luck.

Try the link below. It may be worth your while to post a picture of the damaged area for someone with experience to evaluate. I would say be careful with what you try. Don`t make it worse.

http://www.autopia.org/forum/click-brag/70028-small-how-chip-repair-wetsanding-spring-cleaning-black-g35-56k-owie.html

Bobby G
02-19-2009, 08:47 PM
Any chance you can post a close-up pic so we can see the damage?

snatchss454
02-20-2009, 06:35 AM