PDA

View Full Version : Polish Suggestions

JSFM35X
02-15-2009, 08:26 AM
I have a Black 2008 M35X that I plan on wet sanding a touched up scratch "paint bump" out of. I have the 2000, 2500 and 3000 sand paper. Once I am done with that what polishes would be good to remove the sanding marks with? I know I have seen alot of people say you need to "test" different polishes. I do not own any heavy medium or mild cuttong polishes yet. Just some light swirl remover(for removing wash induced micro marring). So I am open to suggestions and am willing to buy a few extra polishes just to be sure I can finish what I start. Also please suggest pads I should have on hand as well as which pads go with which polish.

I own a PC and Orange, black and white pads.

When using polish how many pounds of pressure should be applioed to get the results w/o going too deep?

I have never done this before in case you cant tell from my questions, but If I screw up roaylly, I will just have the door professionally re-painted.

JSFM35X
02-15-2009, 11:26 AM
Hello..is This Thing On????????????

Street5927
02-15-2009, 12:10 PM
It is very difficult to remove all wet sanding marks with a PC. I just wet sanded a scratch on my 2008 Saturn Sky. I was not able to remove ALL of the wet sanding marks with my PC. I used PB light swirl/scratch remover on an LC Orange pad, and then followed up with 3M Polish for Dark colored vehicles on a Black Right Look Pad. When I was done, all of the sanding marks, swirls and halograms were gone. I finished with a coat of KOI and topped with Pinnacle Souveran Paste.

BigJimZ28
02-15-2009, 12:14 PM
3.5" Pfw + M105....ftw

JSFM35X
02-15-2009, 05:07 PM
3.5" Pfw + M105....ftw

Thanks, i guess I will need to pick up a small back plate, are they all the same or is one better than another?

imported_sal329
02-15-2009, 07:00 PM
3.5" PFW pads as mentioned, M105 followed by M 105 with a 4" pad try white or green then step down to 205 with 4" white, green or black pad.

Dsoto87