PDA

View Full Version : Major Detail suggestions please: Product and Methodology gurus please help!

Pages : [1] 2

imported_Yogujuhere
02-09-2009, 08:49 PM
Hey guys, I`m new to detailing and would like to get serious about it. I want to get started, but i`m trying to get all my products and methods in order. I`ve compiled a list of products the order I want to do it in and I wanted to get approval and suggestions on this from you detailing gurus. I also had a few questions and need some advice.

The car: A 2001 Lexus IS300 Onyx Black in color. Apparently this is pretty soft paint. It has oxidation spots, swirls all over the place, all oem paint except for the front and rear bumper, some deep seated tree sap and bird poop stains, and the occasional deep scratch (some down to the primer). There are also numerous rock chips on the front hood which i`d like to address. To combat all this i`ve compiled a list, but I am unsure with a lot as i`m a complete newbie. Please include any suggestions with the order list and products that I`m using. Thanks so much,

Here goes:

Procedure:

-Prewash with DP extreme foam with Gilmour Foam Gun (have already)

-Wash wheels with P21S wheel cleaner gel and Boar`s Head Brush

-Wash with P21S auto wash using white schmitt and 2 bucket method

-Dry with waffle weave microfiber and leaf blower

-Clay - (i would like a recommendation for this --> don`t know which one to use. Which i`ve heard of chemical guys blue clay medium duty with their lubricant. Was thinking about getting that.)

-Wash the car again and dry

-Tackle Rockchips

Question: What`s the best way to get rid of rock chips? Would a compound take care of it? Should I use touch up paint on all of the rock chips and then wet sand them? Please advise :)

-------------------------------------------------------------

- Exhaust treat with #0000 wool pad and Mother`s Mag and Aluminum Wheel Polish