PDA

View Full Version : Foam benefits?

Pages : [1] 2

imported_Detailing Technology
02-08-2009, 07:32 PM
I have been foaming my cars for almost 2 years now.

I am not sure I see the benefits on a dirty car.

Does anyone else feel this way?

BigAl3
02-08-2009, 08:02 PM
some like using the foam gun as a pre-soak and while they`re washing. it eliminates one bucket and also helps loosen the dirt...

jimmie jam
02-09-2009, 08:04 AM
some like using the foam gun as a pre-soak and while they`re washing. it eliminates one bucket and also helps loosen the dirt...

i agree. i have been foaming for about a year or so and think that the slight effort is worth it. i do it because it loosens the dirt on my DD. the garage queens don`t get the foam.

wannafbody
02-09-2009, 08:08 AM
Foam looks cool but I`ve yet to see how bubbles reduce marring or add lubricity. Foaming only acts as a presoak and that is beneficial. Even a cheapo WM foam gun will do that.

02-09-2009, 08:29 AM
2 things I question with foaming a properly polished and waxed / sealed car.

1. Does pre-soaking actually weaken the wax/sealant as you are leaving soap on the paint for an extended period of time. (a weekly wash for example)

2. I still havent seen a car look better after just foaming. The debris I knock off with the power washer is all that is removed until I touch the sirface with a wash mitt. I am yet to see debris just "float away" with the effervesence of the bubbles.

I tried the foam gun / wash mitt rinse method, I just ended up shooting 15 cars worth of soap throught the mitt...

Setec Astronomy
02-09-2009, 08:38 AM
I still havent seen a car look better after just foaming. The debris I knock off with the power washer is all that is removed until I touch the sirface with a wash mitt. I am yet to see debris just "float away" with the effervesence of the bubbles.