PDA

View Full Version : question about abrasives

jDizzle
01-28-2009, 04:43 PM
alrite.. ive been detailing for well over 3 years now.... i read on here a lot, and have several friends that detail.. and i havnt been able to figure this one out...

you see companies advertizing their swirl removers, polishes, cleaners etc... that are NON-abrasive... how can any of those be non abrasive.. they have to be either chemically or mechanically abrasive to level a surface and get rid of defects, or atleast round off the edges of a defect to make it less visable.. right? how can they be non abrasive? do they just contain a crap load of fillers or something? if so shouldnt that be a glaze..i feel kinda stupid for asking, cuz i feel like it will be something obvious... lol.. a lot of questions, and sorry my post is so long... someone please enlighten me.. id really appreciate it :-) thanks for your time

BobD
01-28-2009, 05:30 PM
alrite.. ive been detailing for well over 3 years now.... i read on here a lot, and have several friends that detail.. and i havnt been able to figure this one out...

you see companies advertizing their swirl removers, polishes, cleaners etc... that are NON-abrasive... how can any of those be non abrasive.. they have to be either chemically or mechanically abrasive to level a surface and get rid of defects, or atleast round off the edges of a defect to make it less visable.. right? how can they be non abrasive? do they just contain a crap load of fillers or something? if so shouldnt that be a glaze..i feel kinda stupid for asking, cuz i feel like it will be something obvious... lol.. a lot of questions, and sorry my post is so long... someone please enlighten me.. id really appreciate it :-) thanks for your time

Some contain fillers, some contain chemical cleaners, some have a powder that is sort of like an abrasive but not actually in the "abrasive" category. There are a ton of options.

akimel
01-28-2009, 05:39 PM