PDA

View Full Version : Paint swirls

Duba
12-31-2008, 10:34 AM
Newbie here. First thread.

I recently bought a Mercedes that needed help with the black paint it had. It was recommended that I use Meguirs Fine Cut and Meguirs Polish and then carnuba wax.

I now have paint swirls thru out and would like to correct. I have read much about the the types of pads and colors and its confusing. Can someone direct me to a inexpensive investment to correct for my own car?

Do I need to wash car with soap to cut the carnuba wax before polishing??

Please help?!!!!

Thanks in advance.

longdx
12-31-2008, 04:37 PM
Basically, my advice(as well as Meguiars) is to use the least aggresive method to correct your paint defects. If you want to strip any pre-existing wax, use Dawn dishwashing soap ( only use this to remove wax) Then, next step is to clay the vehicle (this will remove bonded contaminants on the paint) that would not easily come off during a wash. I would suggest going to the Meguiars forum for their brand specific pad choices.

A brand specific kit (like Meguiars) will include the polisher(G110) pads and products required to correct the vehicle. There are several vendors on this forum that are highly recommended and can walk you through product choices and approaches to correcting your paint problems.

Late model Mercedes vehicles use a hard clearcoat that was designed to help protect paint from automatic car washes. The problem is that it is harder(but not impossible) to remove defects from the paint. Merzerna makes a polish that was specifically designed to correct MB paint. There are many autopians that use Mezerna and can better answer your questions.

SoCalB6
12-31-2008, 05:52 PM
Newbie here. First thread.

I recently bought a Mercedes that needed help with the black paint it had. It was recommended that I use Meguirs Fine Cut and Meguirs Polish and then carnuba wax.