PDA

View Full Version : 3M Ultrafina pad... Educate ME!

Pages : [1] 2

E300Diesel
12-18-2008, 09:39 AM
Hey guys/gals....

I`ve been reading in recent and various posts regarding the use of the 3M Ultrafina (blue finishing) pad usage.... I know that Todd TH0001 uses this in all of his artisan level work.

I am opening this thread to shed some light on why is this pad so coveted by many a experienced detailers on this forum. As a newbie I have quite a ways to go as far as knowledge and technique. I myself have a blue LC CCS 6.5" pad that I have used and will use more extensively via my Makita to "burnish" or "jewel" the surface to restore maximum gloss. Is the Ultrafina finer of a pad regarding it`s composition and construction than others?

Thanks!

Thomas Dekany
12-18-2008, 04:14 PM
Hey guys/gals....

I`ve been reading in recent and various posts regarding the use of the 3M Ultrafina (blue finishing) pad usage.... I know that Todd TH0001 uses this in all of his artisan level work.

I am opening this thread to shed some light on why is this pad so coveted by many a experienced detailers on this forum. As a newbie I have quite a ways to go as far as knowledge and technique. I myself have a blue LC CCS 6.5" pad that I have used and will use more extensively via my Makita to "burnish" or "jewel" the surface to restore maximum gloss. Is the Ultrafina finer of a pad regarding it`s composition and construction than others?

Thanks!

UF will work with the blue/red/gold just fine.

SuperBee364
12-19-2008, 12:03 PM
I tried both versions of the US Ultrafina pad. They are both eight inch pads, one of which is "dished out" where the backing plate goes, the other is just a standard waffle weave flat pad. They are great finishing pads, for sure. But I hate big pads. So I switched to my six inch red Edge 2000 waffle weaves, and could tell zero difference in the way Ultrafina performed. I ended up giving my UF pads to a friend.