PDA

View Full Version : Amateur looking for a side job, a few questions and some product recommendations?

SteveO2005TSX
10-14-2008, 12:48 AM
I have some experience dealing with my own car, but definitely could use some hands on experience

I currently own:

-UDM

-Optimum Polish & Compound

-4 Star UPP

-Meguiar`s NXT Car Wash

-Meguiar`s Tire Gel Shine

-Meguiar`s Hot Rims

-Meguiar`s Interior Detailer (almost out)

-Cheapo carpet cleaner

-Meguiar`s Cleaning/Conditioning leather wipes

-Woolite/Water mix

I want to offer from a basic wash to a full interior and exterior detailing

Any recommendations on products on common issues that I`ll come across? My list is perfect for my car, but with some of these cars I see on here, I`m almost positive this won`t cut it.

I do need some pads for my UDM, any recommendations would be great.

---

A few other stupid questions

I never see anyone using Chamois on here, is there a reason for this?

Is there anyway to bring back the color of the plastic trim/rubber trim around the exterior windows?

Is there anyway to remove light scratches from Vinyl?

I was told to use silicone spray on weather stripping. It does seem to keep it clean and moist. Will this cause any harm?

When should wet sanding me done and what grit is recommended? I have all kinds of crap on my hood that claying, bug and tar remover, compounding, etc won`t remove. I`m beginning to think this is my only route. Is this safe on the clear coat? What type of pressure should be applied?

Is it safe to use mineral spirits on the paint?

Any input/recommendations would be appreciated

Thanks

mrgoochio
10-14-2008, 01:30 AM