PDA

View Full Version : 1st time with PC 7424 was a disaster and I quit early, HELP

Egoolps
10-11-2008, 11:12 AM
So I took my day off of work.

I washed the car, clayed it, and was ready to polish and seal it.

I took out my PC and tried to emulate the autogeek videos on youtube since I am a ROOKIE and this was my first time using it.

I just could not get the hang of this thing. I spread the polish out on the part I am working and turn it on. 3 was too fast for me. I could keep the PC on the car. It kept bouncing up and down. I figured I was pushing too hard...but I wasn`t. Then I figured I wasn`t pushing hard enough...and I wasn`t doing that either.

After a minute, I look at the car and I thought I had scratched it. I don`t know if the polish was set it in or what....but it took a microfiber towel AND elbow grease to get the polish off of the car. I mean I was using almost all of the muscle I had to get this polish off.

After I got the polish off of that one section, I gave up...figuring I need to read up more.

What could I have done wrong? I started wondering if I`m even qualified enough to use the "idiot proof" PC. Help me out please.

eyezack87
10-11-2008, 11:22 AM
Usually speed 3 is great for spreading the polish. It does very little to correct the paint. With the PC you usually have to up it to speed 5-6 :)

I say practice a bit more and don`t give up. It does take awhile to get used to it all. Don`t forget that everyone here started out like you. We were all scared once ;)

Cleaning Fool
10-11-2008, 11:24 AM
Tell some folks where you are located and see if there isn`t a fellow autopian who can meet you and give you some hands on training.

Vintage
10-11-2008, 11:40 AM
So I took my day off of work.

I washed the car, clayed it, and was ready to polish and seal it.

I took out my PC and tried to emulate the autogeek videos on youtube since I am a ROOKIE and this was my first time using it.