PDA

View Full Version : 03 Honda Odessey - Need advise

bwalker25
09-28-2008, 04:15 PM
I have a 2003 Honda Odessey coming up in the next week or so, and I need some help. I know Honda`s have very soft paint and should correct very easily. I think my customer is leaning towards a single step polishing detail vs. the multistep type, which is fine by me as a mini van is a lot of paint to polish!

So the paint is swirled and oxidized. looking at the paint at the rear A pillar straight on it looks very dull / chalky when the sun hits it. however at an angle in the shade it looks decent.

I have never done a honda before mostly Ford/Mercury cars and they are very nice to polish on.

Would an orange 4" or 5.5" pad with HTFC (medium polish) be to much for this soft paint?

All I have is the UDM.... any advise it appreciated.

Thanks

SpoiledMan
09-29-2008, 01:47 PM
What color is it?

Junebug
09-29-2008, 02:06 PM
Hit it with Megs 151, orange LC pad, speed 4-5.

Hakko
09-29-2008, 05:33 PM
While we`re on the subject of `03 Odysseys, I want to clean my wife`s. The problem is that the door wells and channels on the lift gates are so encrusted with dirt that I`m not sure how to approach them. Ideally, I`d use a pressure washer, but then I`d likely flood the interior. I could attack them with a grout sponge, but the I`m not sure how I`d rinse them out without, again, flooding the interior.

nrengle
09-29-2008, 07:38 PM
I can comment on the soft Honda paint. I just did my Civic SI today using Wolfgang Total Swirl remover and a white pad. I`d say don`t go any more aggressive than a white pad at first being this paint is really soft. Not sure what is the same in the Megs line, but I wouldn`t want to do something aggressive, start with a light polish first.

Hakko for your door jambs and such I`d say hit it with ONR, works well for me...

bwalker25
09-30-2008, 02:35 PM