PDA

View Full Version : Severe PC 7424 Pad Confusion

Pages : [1] 2

critical_level2
08-14-2008, 04:21 PM
I have spent the last few days trying to figure out exactly what pads I should get to begin with. I have searched and read and my mind is now boggled. This is my first time I will be using my PC. I know first I will need the backing plate. I was thinking of going with 1 orange, 1 white, 1 grey and 1 blue LC CSS 6-inch Pads. I will be using them on my 05 Honda Element. The paint is pretty good and doesn`t have deep scratches or need tons of correction. It does have some swirling and light scratches, as for the last 2 years it has been washed at automatic car washes and been waxed and polished by hand. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Eliot Ness
08-14-2008, 04:44 PM
.............I know first I will need the backing plate. I was thinking of going with 1 orange, 1 white, 1 grey and 1 blue LC CSS 6-inch Pads. ...........The paint is pretty good and doesn`t have deep scratches or need tons of correction. ............OK this is what I`d recommend. Buy a 3.5" BP:

3.5" Dual Action Flexible Backing Plate- porter cable 7424 or 7336 hook and loop backing plate 3.5 inch. (http://www.autogeek.net/lc-43085da.html)

3.5^^ Hook & Loop Flexiplate (http://www.prestostore.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?ref=exceldetail&ct=37932&pd=284883)

And then go with all 4" pads to keep things simple:

Spot Buffing 4 inch pads - 30% thicker than the Low Profile Spot Buffs! (http://www.autogeek.net/4inch-spot-buffs.html)

4^^ Erasure Turbo Pads (http://www.prestostore.com/cgi-bin/store.pl?ref=exceldetail&ct=56101)