PDA

View Full Version : Any Mobile Detailers Using a Trailer?

ReflectionsADS
08-04-2008, 09:34 PM
I have been detailing now for around 10 years family and friends. I am in the midst of getting a local mobile detailing business started as i`m very confident in my abilities. I have completed and present my business plan to banks and all is well in that aspect. I am at this point torn on the amount I should be asking for, soley for the reason that i read this thread, and i see a considerable amount of you do mobile out of your normal every day vehicles. Maybe i don`t see the behind the scenes.

Question: Should i go in to the bank ready to sign a $20k loan for a fully loaded trailer w/ advertising package and have some left over for equiptment, or sign for a $5k loan and rely on customers having water hook-ups and electricity?

Obviously i`m torn because $20k to start-up is a lot, but i know i have the mindset to do very well, but $5k is less of a risk for a startup business. Please provide you`re thoughts or any input you may have.

-John

Jean-Claude
08-06-2008, 07:10 PM
I started my professional carrier detailing about 6 months ago. I used my F150 and pulled an open trailer that held my tank, generator and pressure washer.

Could I get everything done that way? Yes.

Was it fun? No

I know that you did not ask if whether using a trailer or a van was a better idea. But, just to give you an idea of what I, personally, experienced... I will tell you that having the ability to carry water is smart. Further, I would use a van.

Having a water tank does not have to cost a lot. A used open trailer can be had for a few hundred dollars. A large fresh water tank can be had for less than $100 on craigslist/locally. A step nicer is having an enclosed trailer...$1k+. The best is having a large van.

Advertising? Yes. Make sure to spend money on having vinyls added to your rig. It`s cheap advertising.