PDA

View Full Version : Tiny Scratches & when everything fails...

gogo4
09-02-2005, 01:11 AM
:( K, so again im fairly new and have been absorbing as much info on this website as I can. Excillent writeups and ppl here so I want to thank everybody ahead of time.

I just recived my PC7424 With the SFX kit. I also have in my inventory so far....

Mothers Claybar/sonus claybar
Megs Wash
Megs #2
Megs 1,2,3 step
Megs paint cleaner
Sonus Paintwork Cleanser
P21SPCL
P21SWAX
KAIO
3M 1200grit compound
Scratch X
ETC.

...Now I have tried the following for my 01` MidnightBlue Corvette, which has some light swirels and some fine scratches( prob caused by me w/ carless cleaning.) The car has never seen rain and has been garaged all its life w/ only 15k on the odo... yes a garage queen. Now im very new to this so the more detailed of explanation I can get the better.This is what I tried tonight with some success but not perfect.
I am working with lots of flourescent lightning so I do see every blemmish.

Cutting pad w/ M3 Compound (with results but thats after re-applying it 6x in one lil 2x2 Sqf area!) ...yet still not perfect I still see fine scratches on the clear coat. I know they are fine since i can`t feel it w/ my nail.

polish pad w/Sonus Paintwork Cleanser which helps the surface shine up alot after the compound but the little blemishes and scratches remain.

Another seperate polish pad w/Megs #2 Also with little success.

Now what would you guys recommend?
I am awaiting the ssr 1,2,3 to arrive on the 6th but i don`t like the wait anybody have any other suggestions? I have to wait till the pads drie maybe I will try the heavy cutting pad with Megs#2.......tomorrow. anyone ?

JaredPointer
09-02-2005, 07:58 AM