PDA

View Full Version : Starting out on my own advice

TheFrost
07-08-2008, 10:40 PM
Hello, this is my first time on this site so if there is another place for me to post this please let me know. I have been detailing over 15 years, I started out at a high end car wash in high school and I currently detail for one of the largest limo companies in north florida. I am moving to the Auburn, Alabama area and it seems there is not alot of good detailers up there. My question is what type of bay should I look for and what can I expect to pay for it. I know this varies but just wondering. I am pretty experienced with advertising and customer relations. I have had several customers around Tallahassee that I have been detailing for on a bi weekly basis for several years and I have since them become friends with my clients. I really want to do my own thing but I am worried about paying bills while the company gets going. Can I expect to make at least 30k a year to start and is it possible to make closer to a 100k. I am working on securing a small business loan so I have something to fall back on but so far I have not had any luck with that do to a low credit score. I know I have the skills and I love detailing but I wanted to get some inside info from people that do it for a living before I go out on this edge. My marketing plan will include a large amount of high end clients that live right south of where I hope to put a bay and also Auburn University. I also want to focus on advertising at some of the top notch golf courses in the area. What do I need as far as business lic go and also liability insurance if I want offer a service where I pick up the cars at the clients home/work and bring them to the bay. I really appreciate any help in this regard and I will do my best to share what I have learned over my years in the industry. Thanks, Josh

Stephenwz968
07-09-2008, 05:24 AM
Josh,