PDA

View Full Version : Wax removal procedure

Pages : [1] 2 3

FishWagon
06-06-2008, 08:34 AM
When I first got my new truck home last October, I treated it to Clay, Klasse AIO, Jeff`s AJT, and Collinite. I have waxed numerous times since then but I believe it is time for some fresh synthetic sealant (AJT). How should I prep (remove current wax)? The paint is VERY clean still, but definitely has wax that needs removal. I would prefer one step removal (if possible).

Should I....

1) Just wash with Dawn?

2) Use AIO? Does that remove wax?

3) Clay?

Also, do I really need to let the AJT cure overnight before topping with wax?

joyriiide1113
06-06-2008, 08:37 AM
Klasse AIO should work well.

imported_cushdrive
06-06-2008, 10:50 AM
Wash with Dawn, then clay. I have no experience with KAIO though.

Accumulator
06-06-2008, 11:09 AM
Dawn won`t dent a healthy coat of Collinite (at lesat not unless you use it full-strength and good luck rinsing all those suds off if you try that!), and claying aggressively enough to compromise the Collinite would be, IMO, misusing the clay (I clay my Collinite all the time and it sure doesn`t take it off).

AIO *might* do it, but it might just make for a smeary, hard to remove residue instead.

I`d either wipe it down with a solvent like PrepSol or wash it with something like AutoInt`s "A" or P21S TAW.

imported_beachwolverine
06-06-2008, 11:40 AM
Dawn won`t dent a healthy coat of Collinite (at lesat not unless you use it full-strength and good luck rinsing all those suds off if you try that!), and claying aggressively enough to compromise the Collinite would be, IMO, misusing the clay (I clay my Collinite all the time and it sure doesn`t take it off).

AIO *might* do it, but it might just make for a smeary, hard to remove residue instead.

I`d either wipe it down with a solvent like PrepSol or wash it with something like AutoInt`s "A" or P21S TAW.