PDA

View Full Version : ok what am i doing wrong?

xanaduguy
06-01-2008, 04:31 PM
i am new to detailing and i even practiced on my wifes red focus before going at it on my black 328xi..

I am using zaino zfx and a PC.

my problem is this... I am putting it on very thin and the odd thing is I have left the z2 and z5 on for up to 1 hour and when i do the "finger swipe" test the zaino still smears. what gives?

I ended up after 1 hour and 30 minutes to moisten a MF towel with Z6 and buff the z5 and then z2 out but i must be doing something wrong.

the last application of z2 i did was by hand and i used the pad that comes with the kit. it actually seemed harder since the z6 dried on the paint and left spots that I had to use more z6 to buff out... which of course left smears.

any thoughts on what i am doing wrong?

bwalker25
06-01-2008, 04:45 PM
applying way to thick....IMHO you should barley be able to see it when applied ;)

bwalker25
06-01-2008, 04:51 PM
are you doing z2p and z5 via PC? if so IMHO you are applying way to much and wasting alot of product.

xanaduguy
06-01-2008, 05:01 PM
hmm... I put like a small dime sized spot of it when i applied by hand. how can i tell if its dry when it is on thinner than what i did?

does anyone have a pic of what zaino looks like on a black car when dry? mine never seems to haze up.

Mindflux
06-01-2008, 05:50 PM
You should really be getting 2-3 coats of Z2/Z5 w/ ZFX out of an ounce of product. You`ll never get anywhere remotely near that with a machine IMHO.

Zaino goes on so thin and I can`t say that I`ve ever seen it haze up. I just do the car and come back to where I started and buff it off.

xanaduguy
06-01-2008, 07:45 PM
so here is what I have in spots on my car.... seems if I try to buff it out I am getting micro scratches to boot. :( not cool. :(

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2125/2542896567_703b31bded_b.jpg

and another pic

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3167/2543723242_a2cbd97bc2_b.jpg