PDA

View Full Version : Yet again, Makita 9227 of Flex 3401 RO?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

jchambers
04-24-2008, 11:38 AM
I know everyone asks which should I get and such and I have done quite a bit of searching on the Flex and makita both. However, my UDM just went down and I was just going to get the flex and now wondering if I should get the makita instead. I have no experience with a rotary. The main reason I am thinking of a rotary, is that I am soooo detail oriented when it comes to cleaning anything, that it takes me forever to do a detail. I spent 16 hours on my last one for $100. Im losing money because I dont know when to stop. My thinking is a rotary should help cut that down quite a bit. Any suggestions?

SuperBee364
04-24-2008, 12:40 PM
You might want to consider the Flex 3403 light weight rotary. I really like mine.

jchambers
04-24-2008, 01:23 PM
For reasons undisclosed I need to purchase from Autogeek and the one I see other than the 3401 is FLEX LK603VVB. I dont think it is lightweight lol. Had you ever used a rotary before buying the flex?

SuperBee364
04-24-2008, 02:15 PM
Yeah, for quite a while...tried several different ones, but I bought a Porter Cable rotary cause it was cheap. The gearbox on it finally gave out.

The 9227 is a very nice machine, and it`s quiet. The 3403 is a bit noisy, but I`ll trade the noise for the light weight. The only other drawback to the 3403 is that the drive shaft gets pretty hot, and transmits the heat to the backing plate, causing it and the attached pad to get hotter than normal. It hasn`t really caused an issue... probably more of an annoyance than anything.

fergnation
04-26-2008, 07:08 PM