PDA

View Full Version : Need help with first time polishing.

Pages : [1] 2

stagius24
04-21-2008, 12:26 AM
Hi

I am pretty new to detailing car. I just crammed a lot of reading about car detailing, not sure i can understand it correctly.

Here is my situation

I am trying to do a touch-up paint to my car.

1) To level the touch-paint, people suggest me soak the grit for over night, and apply lubrication while sanding. I am using 2000 grit. Is this all right ? If so, what happen if i did not do the soaking, and water lubrication.

2) After sanding, the paint look like dull. I then used 3M rubbing compound with a microfiber. It look better but i still not satisfy with the result ( i do know 3m is just a liquid sanding). The color is still dull and not match with OEM color. Is there anything else I should do ? Or 3m rubbing compound is the last step.

It would be nice if you guy recommend me some product from auto store like kragen, autozone. I don`t really like to order and wait for stuff to ship/

Please give comment,

Thank you,

stagius24
04-21-2008, 02:31 AM
Did more reading, i still don`t know the difference between wet sanding and dry sanding ?

In my case, i suppose to do the wet sanding, which i didnt.

Also, what is the proper way and supply to buff out after polish the paint.

Sorry if you found these question are nooby.

Thank you

Domas
04-21-2008, 02:45 AM
I don`t know about dry sanding, but I would recommend wet sanding. 2000 grit may be to harsh, if you already sanded with 2000, I think you should do a quick wet pass with 3000 to reduce the 2000 scratches.

After that polish it with your 3M rubbing compound, but not with microfiber, better use a foam applicator (use microfiber after you finish polishing, to wipe out the residue). You`ll need to polish it for some time to take out the sanding marks.

stagius24
04-21-2008, 02:50 AM
are you saying that I should not use the 3M rubbing compound with a microfiber pad ?