PDA

View Full Version : Claying time?

Pages : [1] 2

litebulb99
03-26-2008, 04:00 PM
As a pure hobbyist, I am sure I take a lot longer than the professionals to detail the exterior of a car. Of all the threads I`ve read, claying takes at most 30 minutes. I find it impossible to cover that much territory with three fingers worth of clay in that period of time. It usually takes me 15-30 minutes each to cover a hood, roof, door, quarterpanel etc. I end up spending upwards of two plus hours on this process. I think the benefits of claying are there, especially if one`s car hasn`t had this done before. Any comments?

Neofate
03-26-2008, 04:04 PM
Sure I have a comment.

Claying an entire car in 30 minutes is doing a very poor job. Unless the car didn`t need claying in the first place.

It should take no less than an hour. I spend several hours claying on any one vehicle. Speed isn`t key here, and being a noob or a pro doesn`t change the time it requires to properly clay a vehicle. The time does differ depending on the condition of the paint. More contaminants the longer it will take on any one area before you move on. The less, the shorter.

KnuckleBuckett
03-26-2008, 04:34 PM
Hours. The "s" at the end is kinda important.

Accumulator
03-26-2008, 04:45 PM
Sometimes my claying goes very quickly indeed, but other times yeah, it can take a long, long time. Just depends on the clay I`m using and the degree/nature of the contamination.

Bigpoppa3346
03-26-2008, 04:57 PM
I usually take less than an hour to clay a full sized, typically contaminated car. I use a ton of lube and move the clay very fast over the paint, kneading frequently. Seems to work well for me, I don`t see how you could spend *hours* claying a car. :nixweiss

This is with your average grade clay (Z18 is what I`m using now) and Meguiar`s Last Touch as a lube.

Accumulator
03-26-2008, 05:04 PM