PDA

View Full Version : Any grad students out there?

WSUcommuter
03-10-2008, 07:20 PM
I`m trying to get into a Masters of Public Administration program at the same university I graduated from in 2006. I have to write a "400-word written essay outlining professional and personal goals and how the MPA degree will help achieve these goals.â€

It sounds so easy with my background too. BA in political science with a minor in business economics. Graduate of a local police academy with a little over a year in law enforcement and a second job in security. I have all the transcripts forwarded, two of three recommendations on file, a request for the third sitting on the person`s desk, and the fee paid.

Perhaps writers block? I imagined editing pages of writing into 400 words would have been the difficult task, but I have no clue where to go to sell myself. My GPA meets regular admission requirements- (3.13/4.0), two former employers wrote extremely positive and supportive recommendations, and if he pulls through my third recommendation should be very high from a former undergrad professor.

I know I can use first person, avoid negatives, write with intelligent but not superfluous language, perfect spelling/grammar, etc... I am open to suggestions from experience!

macaddicted
03-10-2008, 07:42 PM
I`m all-but-dissertation in systematic theology. After a BA in graphic design. Don`t ask.

But in reply to the dreaded "personal statement" all that they are asking is "why should we let you in?" Your obvious answers- better pay, quicker advancement- really isn`t what they want to hear. What they want is how are you going to use your degree for the betterment of your community.