PDA

View Full Version : What to do?

mrfjsw294
03-07-2008, 02:59 PM
What do you do when the people in your area are happy with the results of a "hack" detailer? Im trying to market myself in such a way that gets the message across that im NOT a hack and my work is better than theirs and it seems as though im taking 1 step forward and 2 steps back. Every time I show someone my price list and explain to them in detail what exactly will be done to their vehicle, then they give me this "look" like, I can get it done for 10 bucks cheaper down the road at ABC Wash, Scratch and Swirls.

And the sad part is, im not that far off in price from these other guys! :angry Im just starting out and its only part time work for me. Do I need to start coming in lower than or equal to the other guys just to get my name out there, or maybe just do that for my "good" customers and let them know that this is their price and their price only and tell them for every 5 full details they refer, their next one is free?

Just looking for a little guidance, im a pretty persistent person so im not even close to giving up, just looking for a little help along the way.

jordanrossbell
03-11-2008, 02:16 AM
I am in the same boat as you..almost exactly. There is a hack detailer that charges 200 for a wash/wax/interior wipedown....and i had a customer throw a huge fit after agreeing on 500.00 for full details on both a lexus and escalade...now polish an escalade to near perfection and talk to me how it was worth much much more...but they wont pay it. :cry: