PDA

View Full Version : Boat Prices

imported_PaPaHoFF
02-20-2008, 10:55 AM
Hey I am new to this territory because I was just asked by one of my car detailing customers to detail his 27ft Sea Ray. How would I go about an estimate on such a thing and is it similar to car`s in terms of polish and wax etc. Thanks a lot!

imported_themightytimmah
02-20-2008, 11:14 AM
I figure $25 a foot for a compound and wax, if it`s badly faded, I price gelcoat restoration by the hour.

The paint is *much* harder than a car`s. You`ll want a rotary and wool pads. I like Presta Strata 1000 on a twisted wool pad for the first step, and Meg`s Marine Line one-step (#67 I think) on a wool polishing pad for the 2nd step. You can top that with Collinite if desired.

BobD
02-20-2008, 12:52 PM
I agree with themightytimmah. The gel coat is tough so a rotary and wool pads are a good choice. Just be sure the owner did not paint over the gelcoat with some spray paint or something. Also I recommend a polish without abrasives for gelcoat. Like Pure Polish. This will chemically remove any oxidation and will also remove any swirls. I`d top it off with Collinite as well. I`d clean the haul with a haul cleaner first. BioKleen comes to mind as good marine cleaners.

As for pricing it`s hard to say since this will be your first job. I`d say, from the people I deal with, 50% price per foot and 50% per hour. Personally I like the per hour because two boats might be 25` long but one might have a lot deeper haul than the other, meaning more to detail.

alkemyst
02-21-2008, 02:34 PM
I have burned out a DA on a 24` open fisherman. It`s a lot more work than a car and you are working against gravity under the boat.

imported_PaPaHoFF
02-24-2008, 10:48 PM