PDA

View Full Version : Wheel Cleaning, plz help

imported_spielnicht
01-17-2008, 12:02 PM
This is my first year in an apartment and it`s been so, so , so hard to maintain my cars the way I like. Thank God the parking garage is covered at least. The water at the apartment car wash area is shut off in the winter for 4 months.

I try to make it to the self car wash once a week, but with cold weekends, it goes for two weeks. However, once I go that extra week, my wheels gets trashed and the brake dust just bakes in. This is both on the X-Type and S40, but the S40 much less. The X-Type wheels now look horrible. I bought a bottle of wheel cleaner/polish (blue nasty ammonia smelling stuff) from Pep Boys, I scrubbed the inside of the wheels (rough surface), but I accomplished very little, nothing near good. The S40 faired better since the surface is a little more smooth.

What`s the best way to clean the wheels and remove all the baked dust from the rough surfaces and inside of the wheels? Just as well, what`s the best way to keep non smooth surfaces clean all the time? Will wax (e.g. AIO ) work?

jshillin
01-17-2008, 12:13 PM
A good wheel cleaner will help you immensely. A lot of people like P21S gel and I`ve heard a lot of good things about the Surf City Garage wheel cleaner. I have some of the SC cleaner, but haven`t had a chance to use it. Just spray your cleaner on, let it dwell, agitate with your wheel brush, rinse and dry.

gmblack3
01-17-2008, 12:16 PM
Poorboys spray and rinse will get everything off without scrubbing. But I would not use it all the time. You need to clean, then use a good AIO product and sealant. I use ZAIO and Z2pro on them. Then they will come clean with a simple wash.

baseballlover1
01-17-2008, 03:18 PM
Thought about claying them with an aggressive clay? Is that a bad recommendation?

blownvert
01-17-2008, 03:27 PM
megs wheel brightener, let it sit for 30 seconds or so most of it will come off if not all.

Joseph K
01-17-2008, 09:15 PM