PDA

View Full Version : Polypropylene smart fortwo

Pages : [1] 2

saronian
12-11-2007, 04:35 PM
The new 2008 fortwo from smart will officially hit US dealers in a few weeks. So I thought this article on the new Daplen ED230HP thermoplastic panels was interesting. I`ve got a black one on order and it looks like the surface is still a clearcoat, so my regular detailing methods should work well.

Wonder what`s best for the large acrylic roof?

The Smart fortwo is the first commercialized car to have full body panels made from polypropylene. (http://machinedesign.com/ContentItem/71805/Smartpioneersfirstfullpolypropylenebodypanels.aspx )

Any other US members reserve one of these?

Scott

todd@bsaw
12-11-2007, 09:27 PM
I have no experience with it, but I know this has been recommended for that surface:

novuspolish (http://www.novuspolish.com/)

Cheers! I love the Smart vehicles. I got to drive a few earlier this year when they had a marketing team traveling the country with them. We got to wash them all, too.

saronian
12-11-2007, 11:33 PM
Thanks Todd, I`ll make a note of the novuspolish. I remember trying a sample on my iPod and it was very gentle.

Washing is such a great way to get to know a car, if I had the chance to spend more time with them it would have made choosing a color combination easier.

epbrown01
12-29-2008, 03:45 AM
Thanks Todd, I`ll make a note of the novuspolish. I remember trying a sample on my iPod and it was very gentle.

Washing is such a great way to get to know a car, if I had the chance to spend more time with them it would have made choosing a color combination easier.

Did you get the Smart yet? (I know the wait is often over a year) I`m picking up one today and was curious about experiences with caring for the plastic panels, as well as the Tridion cell, which I think is a powercoat. Do you just treat it like any other car?