PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Guide to Detailing Terms-*work in progress*

poweredbytorque
11-20-2007, 12:04 AM
There are tons of new people here and hopefully this can serve as a good guide to get started. There is already a detailed "detailing guide" so I probably won`t make one of those. Of course being a noob myself, I will have questions and hopefully the veterans will set me straight...

Just a side note; I will make mistakes so somebody please correct me when I do. In the early stages, it will also probably contain a lot of misinformation also...

My vision: I hope to make this post a "one stop thread" for people who have general questions. Ideally I would like to have multiple people work with me on this as its a pretty big job...

The formatting will suck at the beginning because I have no idea of what its going to look like but I`ll make spiffy sooner or later or if someone wants to do it for me, that would be great too...

Mods, if you don`t mind, the post itself is going to start off pretty small but I will add to it so please don`t delete it, I only want to do this as a service for other beginning Autopians

General Overview of Terms

I. Polishes

-Generally used as a term to describe the process of eliminating paint defects. These paint defects include but are not limited to: swirls, holograms, spider webbing, water spots insect etchings, scratches, road contaminants, and "bird bombs".

A. Swirls- These are the most common types of defects and are usually caused by small objects moving across the paint. They typically appear in "circles" and are usually caused by bad washing technique.

B. Holograms-This occurs when a detailer has not worked in a polish enough and it causes the trails to appear.

C. Spider Webbing-Help me out on this one

D. Water Spots-These are caused by water drying on your paint and is usually the result of having washed your car with hard water. Hard water is basically water with has high levels of calcium.