PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning up my car - where to start and what to use?

MatthewHSE
11-06-2007, 06:50 PM
I bought a used car a few months ago that`s in pretty good condition overall, but there are some problems with the upholstery and exterior finish. Color is black - I never realized how difficult that would be to take care of! Anyway, I`d like to work on all of the following problems, but I`m not sure how to fix some of them or what the best order would be to do it in. I have no experience to speak of, so I won`t mind if people give very detailed information! ;)

Here are the problems with the car:

1.) Chips, minor scratches and scuffs in the paint. Some of the scratches are probably too bad to buff out. There`s also light to moderate swirling over most of the car.

2.) Paint job is kind of rough here and there, probably needs to be claybarred.

3.) I`d like to wax the car once or twice per year with a hard, long-lasting wax, but shine it up easily every couple of months just for looks. Also on this topic, are there any waxes or treatments that will keep dust and debris from accumulating on the car? This black seems like a magnet for tiny particles of stuff! It would be nice if I could treat the car with something that would just let all the dust blow off as I drive...

4.) The previous owner of this car obviously didn`t have a garage. The leather seats on the passenger side of the car have gotten kind of wrinkled and "tough" from the sun. They`re not even close to outright cracking, but they`ve certainly lost a lot of the original suppleness. I know there`s probably nothing I can do to actually *restore* the original condition, but what`s best for treating this leather so it at least doesn`t get any worse?

5.) Various plastic and rubber parts of the car have spotting and hazing on them, apparently from chemicals or cleaners. I`m guessing there`s nothing I can do about this, but if there`s anything I can do, I`d love to know about it.