PDA

View Full Version : Several random questions...

mattgg11
11-01-2007, 09:11 AM
Let me start off by saying that I am relatively new to this forum and have come from using nothing but OTC products to care for my vehicles. I’m not a professional detailer, nor do I own garage queen or exotic, just normal daily drivers. So help me fill out my collection and better use my current products, keeping in mind that I don’t want a garage full of products I rarely use.

1) In the Click & Brag section, I notice that many people applying Zaino will use one combination of products for the paint (Z2/5/CS/ect.), then use only Z-AIO for the wheels and possibly glass/tailpipe. Why would you not follow-up AIO in these areas with the products used on the paint? Wouldn’t this provide further protection?

2) I’ve also seen several people use Z-10 on vinyl/plastic/rubber, even though it is mostly a leather treatment/conditioner. Would this be a better alternative to the Vinylex that I’m currently using? (FYI…my vehicles don’t have leather)

3) Even though they are daily drivers, my vehicles don’t get nearly as dirty as some of the Click & Brag cars I see. I don’t have kids, don’t eat in the car, and use all-weather rubber mats/liners, so the interior stays clean. I hand wash the exterior weekly, so I don’t get a huge build-up of dirt/grime there either. On the inside, I just use a damp MF and a vacuum, then wipe down with Vinylex. On the outside, just a regular 2 bucket wash.

Does this process sound OK, or do you think my vehicles would benefit from using other specialized cleaners or APC’s?

4) I currently use Simple Green as an APC, simply because I`ve had it around the house and used it for years. Can someone suggest a single APC that I can use on most/all parts of the vehicle, in various levels of dilution? I would mostly use this for wheels/wells/tires, really tough exterior grime, cleaning all-weather mats. Or is SImple Green OK for my needs?