PDA

View Full Version : Clean, clayed, used Optimum and.....

howareb
10-30-2007, 08:09 PM
Hi all,

This is my first thread with Autopia, but I have been detailing for about 3 years.

A customer of mine came to me with their 2001 Charcoal Blue Navigator and I noticed that the hood had medium/heavy oxidation. They told me to do the best I can with it when I pointed it out.

I hit the oxidized area with Optimum Compound and an LC Orange CCS, UDM running on 3. It removed some of the oxidation, moved to the LC Yellow ccs, UDM on 3. Removed about 60%, then moved to Optimum Hyper on LC Orange, UDM on 3, in which I got rid of about 80%. After I completed the last pass, I noticed that the shine was back but some of the oxidized areas were lighter in color than the color of the car. Needless to say the oxidation may have gotten too bad. But, I am posting here looking for a glimmer of hope. The customer will understand, but I want to try all avenues before I give up.

Should I continue working on this area or leave it be? Can the paint have been thined out so much that it is lighter in color (If so it does not make sense to me) or has the paint been damaged by the oxidation and the sun, upon which there is nothing that can be done. I have worked with lightly\medium oxidized cars before, but this one has me stumped.

I will post a pic tomorrow AM. Oh yes before I forget, the Optimum Polishes are some great products.

BigAl3
10-30-2007, 08:11 PM
for paint correction, you are going to have to bump the speed up to 5-6...

howareb
10-30-2007, 08:17 PM
I have recently started with the Optimum line of polishes, but I have had success with lower speeds using these polishes (Optimum directions recommends using lower speeds on the UDM).

I also use the PB SSR line. With these compounds I agree that I need speed 5 or 6.

Scottwax
10-30-2007, 10:42 PM
Do you have any pictures?

It is possible the hood is a repaint.

stiffdogg06
10-30-2007, 10:51 PM