PDA

View Full Version : What is Gelcoat?

Pages : [1] 2

Bobby G
10-04-2007, 07:41 AM
Not being a Marine expert, I had to do some research to answer this question. Here`s the answer from wikipedia:

"A gelcoat is a material used to provide a high quality finish on the visible surface of a fibre-reinforced composite material. The most common gelcoats are based on epoxy or unsaturated polyester resin chemistry. Gelcoats are modified resins which are applied to moulds in the liquid state."

So, other than the method of application, a Gelcoat finish is not that much different than automotive paint.

Facts about Gelcoat:

1. It needs to be waxed/protected to prevent oxidation.

2. It is damaged by the sun`s UV light.

3. It is easily scratched.

4. You can wet sand, cut and buff Gelcoat in the same manner as automotive paint finishes.

When Gelcoat finished parts are removed from their mold, they are rarely perfect (at best, the part can be 99% as good as the mold itself). Most boat manufacturers finish their boats using a muti-step sand, cut and buff process to achieve the final finish.

The good news for boat owners is that Gelcoat is pretty thick (much thicker than automotive paint), so you have a good amount of material for scratch repair.

db

BobD
10-04-2007, 07:47 AM
I`ll have to dissagree on the easily scratched part. I used to work for a cutstom boat trailer builder and I have been around a lot of boats. Gelcoat is much stronger than most automotive paint from what I have seen and been involved with.

Bobby G
10-04-2007, 08:00 AM
I`ll have to dissagree on the easily scratched part. I used to work for a cutstom boat trailer builder and I have been around a lot of boats. Gelcoat is much stronger than most automotive paint from what I have seen and been involved with.

Thank you for your input, Bob. I`m simply going by what I have seen watching gelcoat being sanded and buffed.

db

Bobby G
10-04-2007, 09:00 AM
Found this informative page: