PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever used a PC on a Saturn Ion or Vue?

imported_RedlineIRL
08-26-2007, 01:22 PM
I`m getting ready to get everything I need with the PC 7424, but I`m unsure which products I`ll need. I`m not for sure how thick or thin the clear is on these cars, so I`m hoping someone that has used a PC on an Ion or Vue could tell me what works best. I`ll be using it on my bright red `05 Saturn Ion, if the color makes a difference. I just want to remove the swirls it has in it, so if someone could tell me which pads, polish, and speed I should use it would really help me out. I have zero experience with the 7424, so what`s a good starting point so I don`t screw up anything or make it worse?

99blackSE
08-26-2007, 10:43 PM
From what I have gathered GM clear is a little harder than average. You should have more than enough clear though to use something like Optimum Compound on a medium cutting pad or something similar. You could probably even go straight to something like HTEC or OHC (Hi Temp Extreme Cut / Optimum Hyper Compound) if the damage is really bad.

Start out with a less/least aggresive polish/pad combo though to get a scope on the severity.

For working in most polishes, speed 6 on the PC seems to work for me.

Have you read through some of these articles?

http://autopia.org/forum/guide-detailing/

Also post up some pictures so we can see what you are dealing with.

jesselyons2002
08-26-2007, 11:57 PM
I use the PC on my moms blue saturn ion. The clear was hard. I used IP and orange pad to take off the swirls.

a.k.a. Patrick
08-27-2007, 12:04 AM
Ive used the FS Body Shop polishes on a blue Ion before. Cleaned up very nicely in average time. I would offer a pic but something is going on with photobucket.com, and I cant upload anything....I agree with the above post, Orange pad is a good place to start with swirls....

imported_RedlineIRL
08-31-2007, 07:34 PM