PDA

View Full Version : Advice for daily driver

Pages : [1] 2

langod
08-21-2007, 09:46 PM
Hi All, a newbie here.

I`ve been following these boards for a while and using some of the techniques on my weekend fun car -- a bright red Mustang.

I just picked up a 2001 Maxima as a daily driver. The silver paint is in decent but not great, condition.

Just for giggles last weekend I broke out my PC and treated the Maxima`s hood to my usual procedure and products for my Mustang. (I actually taped off a section so I could see before/after.) I used clay, swirl remover, Klasse AOI and P21S. I was actually disappointed that it didn`t come out better. It was smoother and glossier, of course and a little darker than the un-detailed section, but it wasn`t a dramatic difference. I`m thinking that silver just doesn`t get as "deep" as red?

So anyway, because it`s my daily driver I`m not really interested in spending huge amounts of time and money on the finish. I want it to look good, but I`m mostly interested in good protection from the elements. The car lives outside un-garaged and will see snow/salt from New England winters. What products/procedure would you recommend for decent looks but long durability?

(I attached a pic -- the area to the right of the tape is the "detailed" section.)

Thanks.

mikebai1990
08-22-2007, 08:19 AM
Which swirl remover did you use? Maybe your products weren`t aggressive enough and didn`t correct the paint enough to produce a noticeable different.

Search around for durable waxes, it`s been discussed many times. Collinite, Duragloss, Zaino, Jeff Werkstatt`s, Ultima Paint Guard Plus...

01bluecls
08-22-2007, 09:01 AM
I recommend Collinite IW845!

TigerMike
08-22-2007, 09:08 AM
You need a good strong, durable product IMO. As suggested, have a look at the leaders in this regard...

Collinite`s 845IW is really good, pretty durable, and much easier to use than their most durable product, 476S.