PDA

View Full Version : Long post about which products I need now.

hydro556
08-16-2007, 03:11 PM
Guys, I am just getting into this and need to add to the arsenal. Other than some OTC stuff, I have XMT 360, pad cleaner and conditioner to go along with LC orange, white, black and wool pads. I use these with my Makita 6040. I also have both mothers and megs clay kits. I am not real impressed with the megs clay but the mothers seems pretty effective. I am getting ready to place another order with AG and want to get the right products. I think I need another "dedicated" polish to use when the 360 is not enough. I also want to add some clay and finally a good all around LSP. Lastly do you guys think I would be well served to add to my pad collection? I havent felt limited by my pad selection yet but I am still getting the feel of things. I need all these products for general usage, but I do have a buddy with a late model Tundra(dark green) that wants me to detail it for him, including some swirl removal.

1- which clay is the "best value" in your opinion?

2- which polish would be good for me when the 360 doesnt do the trick? (or polishES)

3- I have been trying to decide on an LSP for a month now. I am confused when I hear people say "this one looks great but doesnt protect well". It seems to me if I use 360 or another good sealant under the LSP that durabililty of LSP wouldnt be that important, know what I mean? I dont really want to drop $90 for souveran, so what LSP is considered the best value. If my assumption from above is accurate(i.e. with a good sealant underneath, durability of LSP takes a back seat to looks of LSP) which LSP is easy to use and looks great?

4- as mentioned, I have LC orange, white, black and wool pads. Are these sufficient for a newbie, or is there a glaring deficiency?