PDA

View Full Version : Incorporate or.....

Polished60
06-13-2005, 09:08 AM
So its time to get this business thing legit. I`ve been doing cars here and there since last fall and figure its time to do what I enjoy full time. Should I just go up to the city`s gov`t center and get a business license or incorporate. It`ll just be me for atleast the first year . As far as taxes and profits go, is incorporting a better option. Do most of you guys/girls operate as sole proprietorships? I`ve read lots of books on it, but I`m not one hundred percent decided. If I just get the biz license, is it more difficult to reform the business (into a company) down the line? Any advice will be greatly appreciated! Thanks DC.

JeffM
06-13-2005, 03:46 PM
Im not a pro detailer, but i am an S-Corp. I have 20 employees, but im not really sure whats the difference, or when you should be what.

Make an appointment with a lawyer, ask about LLC.

My other business i was a sole proprietor, i ended up mixing my personal stuff with business, and the books were a complete mess. I will never be a sole prop. again, just my .02

WHATEVER you do, pay your quarterlies, even if you go without food!

Dont even ask me how i know....

JeffM
06-13-2005, 04:05 PM
From my books of useless info:

Sole Proprietorship:

Th sole prop. is the simplest and least expensive business type to organize. In a sole prop., one person owns, operates, and leads the business.

Avantages for a S.P.
Easy to create
The owner has full cntrol and responsibility
Makes all the decsions
Ownership is freely transferable
The owner can sell, alter, or exchange all or part of the business

Disadvantages of a S.P.

The owner has unlimited personal liability!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The business terminates on the owners death
Business profits are taxed as ordinary income to the owner

Jngrbrdman
06-13-2005, 04:30 PM