PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for my Subaru

cshorey
08-10-2007, 03:16 PM
I have searched and didn`t find much info about people detailing Subaru`s.

From the research I have done, I got the feeling subaru isn`t known for having the best paint. The biggest thing I noted from subaru owners is that the paint is really thin. But I have no experience or knowledge beyond what I have at this time.

My car has a few paint defects and a ton of rock chips all over my hood (I get to thank the state of Oregon for using large rocks on the roads in the winter)

Anyway what products would people suggest for my blue Subaru? My goal you ask? take out the swirls and scratches without causing damage, make it look good (show car good not needed), and most importantly have it be protected as it`s my daily driver.

heres a pic:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1122/1046252806_8aecfba862.jpg

Thanks a lot to everyone who has been reading and replying to my threads. :)

chris

cshorey
08-13-2007, 06:41 PM
Ok so I finally got to use my PC this weekend. Thanks to everyone who answered some of my questions last week.

Here is a summary of what I did this weekend, but I am looking for suggestions of improvements and products to use (either better then I am using, alternatives, or ones I am missing).

Wash:

1 - Pressure wash the car

2 - Wash the wheels and tires - I used the two bucket technique with Megs Gold Class, Megs Wheel Face Brush, Megs Tire brush and Megs hot wheel cleaner. I also added soap to water and stir vs soap in bucket and spraying.

3 - Rinse Wheels

4 - Wash exterior (paint) - two bucket (not wheel ones) with Megs Gold Class and Megs Deep Pile Chenille Wash Mitt with a "Jiggly" motion

5 - Rinse Car (removed sprayer and let flow off car)

Dry:

1 - Dried with a Megs synthetic chamois (I normally use a Meg`s MF + WW, but I wanted to try this out as I had it). I think I like the MF + WW better

Clayed: