PDA

View Full Version : Medium or Mild Detailing Clay

Pages : [1] 2 3

Bert
08-04-2007, 04:50 PM
Noob here.

I have just recently been reading autopia and wanted to purchase some clay. My car is a 2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse that has never been clayed. Because the car is almost 8 years old (manufactured in 1999) and has never been clayed, do I need to go more aggressive than mild clay and use medium clay at the risk of micro marring the surface? Or should a pass or two with mild clay be fine?

DantheMan
08-04-2007, 05:06 PM
Mild if you dont plan on machine polishing..

If you are polishing, the medium will be faster than the mild for removing contaminants, and you don`t have to worry about any marring since you will be getting rid of it shortly thereafter..

PTRon
08-04-2007, 05:11 PM
Do you plan on polishing after claying? I`d go with the medium clay or maybe a paint decontamination "system" like this - Finish Kare FK1 Professional Detailing Products (http://www.fk1usa.com/products-professional.htm) - or this - ABC Car Wash System - Prep and Reconditioning Products - Automotive International (http://autoint.com/autostore/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=22&idproduct=212)

danforz
08-04-2007, 05:40 PM
Personally, I wouldn`t eve really advocate mild clay. Its primary purpose (I think) is to allow true OCD detailers to remove contaminants between details, while leaving their LSPs intact. Personally, I don`t know how effective a clay could be that doesn`t remove LSP in the first place, so I never really endorsed that concept.