PDA

View Full Version : Borrowing a PC - how much trouble?

Merche
07-28-2007, 09:16 AM
My car has some swirl marks on the hood that I`ve been wanting to take care of for a while. Tried hand polish - no effect. I`ve been debating about paying someone else to do a full detail or buying a PC or UDM for myself, when I find out that a friend has a PC and has offered to let me borrow it.

What I want to know is - since I have no experience using it, how much trouble can I get myself into with this machine? I`ve seen the posts recommending practice on a junk panel, which I know is probably a good idea, but I don`t have a junk panel to practice on. If I take it slow and easy am I still in danger of screwing up? My car is somewhat of a classic (black 1993 Mercedes 500E) that I can`t afford to damage. I`d rather leave it as it is (which still looks pretty damn good) than risk doing anything that would damage it.

I`m guessing a little paranoia is healthy here, but the question is how much? Enough to make me be very cautious or enough to make me not try at all? Bottom line - how user-friendly is the PC for a cautious but inexperienced user?

Hey, Moe!
07-28-2007, 10:43 AM
I would say that it would be pretty user-friendly. A lot would depend on the polishes/pads used. Others who have experience with your paint will hopefully chime in.

As long as you start with the least-aggressive approach in terms of polish and pads, and bump it up a notch as needed, you should be OK. I received a PC as a Christmas present years ago, and I have used it without any help with no issues ever since. I don`t always get the result I want right away, but changing pads/polish always got the results for the vehicles I have owned.

MatrixXRS
07-28-2007, 11:00 AM