PDA

View Full Version : newbie here

imported_lennster
06-27-2007, 09:55 AM
Newbie here with a couple questions.

I just got a new 07 Toyota Tundra 2007 double cab.... Pyrite with 20"Chrome.

Been lurking and reading, there is a wealth of knowledge here.

Kinda overwhelmed as to what products to use.Being a new truck what steps

should I employ to keep this thing looking sharp, and what products would ya`ll

recommend. Thanks

kkreit01
06-27-2007, 10:09 AM
You must not have read enough:) What shape is the paint in? When was the build date? I bought a new car 1 month ago. It really could have used a clay job the day I brought it home. If your paint is near perfect, just hit it with some DG 105. You can use DG AW as a topper every month. If your paint is dirty, hit it with some OTC Clay, and then DG 101 + DG105. I picked all "over-the-counter" products -- as most newbies aren`t ready to mail order yet...

For a beauty wax, try P21S, S100, or Megs #26.

kapinnn
06-27-2007, 10:35 AM
Just a little help.. DG = Duragloss and they can be bought locally at any CarQuest

Bunky
06-27-2007, 10:51 AM
As a newbie myself, it was difficult to digest everything here. The search function here is basic so finding good summaries is difficult.

The biggest thing I did was that I washed the car on a regular basis using good washing techniques (started using a lamb`s wool mitt, drying correctly) and a decent car wash (I use Duragloss 901). You can start by reading the detail guide here.

For a newbie, proper technique will be a bigger variable to getting good results over the specific wax you end up chosing so that is easy to apply. I went with Mothers Reflections topped with pure carnuaba just to be different but I plan to try others (like Duragloss). If you do it right, you will probably have a vehicle that looks better than most.