PDA

View Full Version : In need of simple straight facts, plz

fcs
06-23-2007, 02:35 AM
Hello and a thank you to all those taking time reading this to help me and those to learn, thank you. I am a young college student who hasn`t been blessed with a lot of auto knowledgeable people near him. Now I know I need to wax my car to protect the finish but I don`t know if there are certain steps I should take each time I wax.

I have a 2001 Ford Focus SE, green, and there isn`t much damage to it other than minor rock chips, from trucks and semi`s, and swirl marks. I haven`t noticed any rust yet, which is good. I waxed my car a few weeks ago with NXT Generation Paste Wax. It`s a synthetic wax and I was told it was very good by my auto store. I washed my car very well but I didn`t know anything about detailing clay bars or any of that stuff, still don`t.

I just would like to know what I should do to take good care of my cars finish. I want to know when I should use the products, how often I should use them, and how important they are and what they do.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and to help me and others out. Thanks Again.

imported_steveo3002
06-23-2007, 03:05 AM
clay bar kit...use once or twice a year to remove bonded dirt and fall out etc(might need to use more often depending on area)

then use a mild polish to restore the shine and help remove swirls , the idea is then be carefull and not need to re polish all the time ...polishing about once a year is good going

glaze *optional* helps add to the wet look ,but can lessen the durability

then a wax or sealant of your choice to seal in the hard work and help protect it, alot of us have found nxt doesnt last long at all, zaino, klasse and collinite are long lasting products

fcs
06-23-2007, 03:08 PM