PDA

View Full Version : What to charge relatives?

Pages : [1] 2

74 thing
06-19-2007, 08:29 PM
OK, what do you guys charge your relatives-do you cut them a discount? Mom and dad get free details, but what about the sister in law`s mother, people like that who are not immediate family but you are going to see them around the holidays. I do not want to do it for free since I work hard. I was wondering what you guys do.

BMW335i
06-19-2007, 08:33 PM
I don`t know, but I think if your normal full detail is 250, I would do it for 175.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional detailer.

TrueDetailer
06-19-2007, 08:52 PM
Unless its immediate family, they get no discounts with me. I would say though, half off sounds like a heck of a deal.

imported_GregCavi
06-19-2007, 08:53 PM
I usually give about a 25% discount for close family. My parents and sister and girlfriend are free, of course.

Greg

stiffdogg06
06-19-2007, 09:12 PM
Mom,brothers are all free.

Cousins and such are half off.

Johnnie27
06-19-2007, 09:36 PM
Though I`m not a professional, it would depend how close you are with them. If you`re close to them I`d probably only charge for products. My wife is a hairstylist and she charges family for products only. The good thing about that is they refer a lot of people to her so it pays off. If they are just using you and you are not that close to them then I`d only give them a slight discount.

JDK
06-19-2007, 09:42 PM
Parents, wife and kids are free, my brother gets half off. Everybody else pays full price, although my close friends and co-workers usually try and get a freebie or big discount. I just explain that I don`t need the practice and they`d have to pay the same or more for somebody else to do it.

imported_truzoom
06-19-2007, 10:29 PM
Depends on how your family is. I usually work for free but then I get free lunch, drinks, and I usually get paid at the end anyway.. of course I`m the young nephew of nearly everyone in my family.

LQ9SS
06-20-2007, 12:00 AM