PDA

View Full Version : a couple of questions

kaval
06-08-2007, 01:22 AM
Hey guys (and gals). I`m relatively new here and have some questions that my searching has not answered completely.

I have someone who wants some polishing done on their 2002 Lexus IS300 in Absolutely Red. It is a non-metallic paint...seems to be flat (hence the name "absolutely red"). He had some bird droppings on his car and removed it by essentially just scrubbing with water and a terry cloth until it came off. The resulting damage is pretty bad and I recommended he get it wetsanded because at some parts my fingernail gets caught. I mentioned to him that I can minimize the look and the surrounding scratches by using OC or something of the like (with a PC) and he said to go ahead with that. So I will be working on that spot, and doing swirl removal on the hood and trunk after I wash and clay. My question is that I have no experience with non-metallic paint, or Lexus paint for that matter, and so I was wondering if anyone has some input on products I can use, or information on this type/colour of paint, or anything to say for that matter.

I currently have the following

PC 7424

6.5" orange, yellow, white, black/grey Lake Country pads

OC

OP

Poli-Seal

Megs

#2 Fine Cut Cleaner (unused)

#7 (combined it with OP on the last detail I did)

#9 Swirl Remover 2.0 (unused)

#26 Hi Tech Yellow Wax

#16 Professional Paste Wax

As you can see my collection is rather small, but I am pretty sure there is good potential in what I currently have. I am open to buying new products, given that they perform better than what I currently have. I have read that #2 is only to be used with a rotary. Although I assume I can use it with a PC, but what sort of ramifications am I looking at? I assume none, but I just want to be sure.