PDA

View Full Version : Is Wet Mirror Finish enough for polishing the car?

trcns
06-05-2007, 03:44 PM
I am new to all detailing products. From years what I knew was, “wash the car and polish it”. I did not know the difference between Polish and Wax. I read a lot over the web but still not sure.

Then a detailing company from CA sold me a chemical “Soft Cut” and a Wax. They told me to use the Soft Cut first and Wax it. It always worked and the car looked very shiny. That’s what goal was.

Now I bought a new car, so I started looking for better products. I read a lot about different products on the web which made me more confused. There are so many steps they talk about and so many things, that if I start taking all these steps, then I might end up spending 2 days in polishing the car only.

All I want is to wash it and wax it. (I am not using the word “Polish” because I read that “polish” means taking a thin layer of Clear Coat off the paint.

So spoke to a gentleman at ChemicalGuys.com and told him that I like Waxing my car every 2 weeks, what should I use? He recommended “WET MIRROR FINISH ULTRA SLICK NON-STICK GLOSS MAGNIFIER.” That I purchased.

Now my questions are

1) Should I still use Soft Cut and then Wet Mirror Finish or Wet Finish only?

2) If both, then should I use every time both of them?

3) Is it safe to use Wet Finish every 2 weeks?

4) Is Wet Finish is the only product I need or do I need to wax it after words?

Please help. I am looking for the best results with least amount of time.

Thanks

joshtpa
06-05-2007, 04:42 PM
You could do it either way. I dont know Soft Cut, but Wet Mirror Finish looks outstanding. It is fine to use Wet Finish every 2 weeks. I love the way a paste wax looks on top of Wet Finish, but make sure that the wax that you use, does not have cleaners in it. You do not want them to remove the previous step.

dogma
06-05-2007, 04:58 PM
I would use CG ONE then Wet mirror finish then their Synthetic QD. That`s what I do .