PDA

View Full Version : Porter Cable Starter Package (please read)

Pages : [1] 2

funfactor89
05-09-2007, 07:27 AM
Thank you for all the suggestions in the previous thread that i made. I think if found a package that fits my budget and seems like good products. Could you guys please review this and offer any suggestions or tips that you might see that could help me out. I am new to the whole detailing scene and have never used a pc before.

Thanks

PC 7424 from coastal tools $109.00 + $8.50 shipping = $117.50

Includes wrench and 5" and 6" counterweights

autogeek order

3.5" Backing Plate $11.99

5" Backing Plate $16.99

(2) 4" Lake Country Orange Pad $9.99

(2) 4" Lake Country White Pad $9.99

(2) 5.5" Lake Country Orange $14.99

(2) 5.5" Lake Country White $14.99

(2) 6.5" CCS Gray Pads $18.99 Total = $164.89 with shipping

(1) Poorboys Natty`s Blue $15.99

(1) Optimum Compound $16.99

(1) Optimum Polish $16.99

So is this a good package for $282.39? Do i need anything else to make these products work. The ccs pads are in there because i don`t see any stock for the 5.5" foam pads. Do i need to get a different counterweight for the 4" pads?

joshtpa
05-09-2007, 07:37 AM
This would be a great start I believe. You might want to check around for some other things. For instance, I believe that properautocare has a lot of sets that include the machine and you might get a discount with some stuff.

funfactor89
05-09-2007, 08:19 AM
thanks for your suggestions but what other things should i be looking for? Sorry i don`t know much about this but i want to learn. Are 2 of each pad enough to do a vehicle?

tom p.
05-09-2007, 08:30 AM
Porter Cable Starter Package

Knowing what I know today, I`d never load up on so many components. I`ve recommended to folks getting started with the PC to get the machine and a modest $30 pad bundle and see what they like. These folks I am thinking of are still using this modest line-up several years later - - and with much success.