PDA

View Full Version : Wow, I quit my job and never felt better!

imported_speedingpenguin
04-09-2007, 04:58 PM
I`ve mentioned it in other posts I`m pretty sure, but I had been working at the Simoniz car wash for a few months now as sort of a temporary job. My "official" position was in the detail center, but with two other people working there most of the time, I really only was doing detail work on weekends when it got real busy. The rest of the time, I worked in the car wash spraying down cars and punching them into the computer. Making 8 bucks an hour, it was pretty bad. Between the cold and uncomfortable conditions (my sinuses are horrible to begin with, and the cold makes me miserable), plus the fact that being what I`d like to consider an autopian of sorts, "detailing" cars for 8 dollars an hour, doing more harm than good on most of them (Trust me on this one), I was pretty sick of that job and wanted to quit so I could get started on my own detailing biz. Anyway, between selling my truck, getting my federal tax return, and my girlfriend being away for a week last week, I had a pretty decent chunk of change in my account. My boss at the carwash was an a****le, and when he reamed me out today for drinking a coffee while spraying the cars down (it was kinda quiet, only a few cars every few minutes), I decided that enough was enough and told him that it was time for me to think about moving on to something else, that I would happily work the hours he had already scheduled me for, but he said not to even worry about it. It just bothered me that I got yelled at for 5 minutes because I got 2 hours of sleep last night and was drinking a coffee while spraying cars down, but he doesnt care (and yes, he knows) about other people taking "smoke breaks" behind the building, smoking cigarettes while working, etc. and doesnt say anything to them.....