PDA

View Full Version : Take a look at my car - what should I use??

spartan
04-02-2007, 07:30 PM
Ok I am fairly new to the mechanical polishing aspect of car detailing. I have always waxed my cars by hand and stumbled across this site a while ago. I would like to know what you guys would recomend using to fix some defects with my cars paint and trim. First are the swirls, the car is pretty badly swirled. Last year I tried, megs #9 and it really didn`t do anything via pc. I am looking for something to better take them out. Right now the car is dirty because it has rained a lot and I don`t have a garage spot.

http://www.autopia.org/gallery/data/500/2007_0402Image0001.JPG

Next is the fading in some areas. On the side of the car there are some moldings all of them are faded except for one (I think they were all taken off except that one when the car was repainted)

http://www.autopia.org/gallery/data/500/2007_0402Image0005.JPG

And then lastly, what should I do for the trim around my sunroof. Before I found out that taping is much easier than trying to be careful, I got a lot of wax on it and it won`t come off.

http://www.autopia.org/gallery/data/500/2007_0402Image0004.JPG

gmblack3
04-02-2007, 07:51 PM
What kind of car is it? Is #9 all you have right now? What pads do you have for the PC?

JashGTP
04-02-2007, 09:29 PM
use the least abrasive product to get the job done...

but from the looks of it try some M80 Speed Glaze

Envious Eric
04-02-2007, 09:50 PM
I highly doubt that 80 will work enough on that alone...

just get a compound and some light cutting pads and set the PC to speed 6 and go to town...something like 83, OC, TOTL heavy cut, menzerna IP, etc...dont waste your time to work with the least aggressive method possible...that is for those cars which are going to get compounded 4-6 times a years due to neglect....then step down to a light polish, then wax...