PDA

View Full Version : I am a noob & I need advice *****

koolmoecraig
03-31-2007, 02:02 AM
OK.

SO I bought a bunch of stuff and this is what I have to do my job. Tell me if I`m on the right track or doing anything that isn`t required. I have a 1996 Miata with about 7000 miles. Paint is about a 9 on a scale of 1-10.

1. Wash

2. Sonus Clay bar

3. Griots Fine Hand Polish

4. Klasse AIO

5. 2 coats of Klasse Sealant Glaze

6. 1 coat of PS21 carauba wax

Good? Any advice would be most welcome!

danforz
03-31-2007, 02:07 AM
Sounds like a fine plan to me. Remember though, that the devil is in the details. Are you using a two bucket wash method? As for the Klasse Twins... Apply AIO and SG (especially SG) thin and even. Remember that both these items can be used on trim, and AIO works great on windows as well (Just make sure to thoroughly rub it off). Apply the 2 coats of SG on separate days, and same goes for the wax. I would personally recommend putting on more then one layer of wax, but thats up to you. You have solid products in your arsenal, and if you`ve done your reading you will be very happy with the results. And of course, you`d better post pictures :)

Almost forgot, I don`t know much about the Griots fine hand polish, so I`ll let someone else chime in on that.

koolmoecraig
03-31-2007, 02:19 AM
God bless the internet. Drunk off my as* at Midnight on a Friday and I can get feedback on my car detailing project! How did we live without this!?

I don`t use the two bucket method, I rinse my wash mitt with the hose after every section.

Here is my car BEFORE my attempt:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2349126

Accumulator
03-31-2007, 12:06 PM
koolmoecraig- Welcome to Autopia!

The Sonus *gray* clay will quite probably mar your paint too severely for the Griot`s hand polish to correct. The Sonus *green* shouldn`t do that but might be too gentle, you`ll just have to see.