PDA

View Full Version : Newbie..Turtle Wax Mistake?..

Saumil
03-21-2007, 08:59 PM
Hello all...newbie here who recently bought an 06 mits lancer - graphite gray..2 weeks ago i washed with "blue coral wash" and waxed with turtle wax cleaner wax. My cars remains outdoors 24.7..it has snowed alot up here, and theres salt all over my car..not to mention the water spots/minerals..im handwashing tomorrow with the right stuff after reading on autopia..

My question is..do i have to remove the last coat of wax (TW CLEANER) to put on meguair`s gold class..or can i layer it on there?..It looks and feels as if the wax is not even on there anymore after a brutal week..but im just making sure...

I have looked at threads for countless hours and purchased some good washing supplies,QD,tire cleaners..etc..

What do you guys think i should do?

Thanks in advance!!

dmxsoulja3
03-21-2007, 09:07 PM
If you are concerned, wash the car with dawn that should take off the wax and let you start fresh. of course you can skip this step if you plan on claying which will also probably take it off.

twitch
03-21-2007, 09:17 PM
Sorry dmxsoulja3 but I disagree with the Dawn statement. Dawn is highly overrated in its ability to remove wax.

The better step, as you also mentioned, would be to clay the surface.

Saumil what products do you have to work with? Let us know what you have and we can chime in.

Also I wouldn`t be real concerned yet with the product you used. I`m sure it won`t harm your finish. Give your Lancer a good wash (with carwash soap) and apply the Gold Class as a "topper" if you don’t have anything else yet.

dmxsoulja3
03-21-2007, 09:25 PM
Yeah you are probably right, but guessing on the weakness of the turtle wax stuff I figured it might be a shot if he didn`t have any clay...Though I`m seeing simple clay kits at all the auto parts stores recently and as stated thats your easiest option, not to mention its also a very functional option in the sense of your end results.

steck